Keynote Speakers

Call for Papers




About Sydney



Call for Papers      PDF version

I-SPAN 2008
The 9th International Symposium on Parallel Architectures, Algorithms and Networks
May 7-9, 2008

Organized by:
School of Information Technologies,
The University of Sydney

URL: http://www.it.usyd.edu.au/~ispan08

Scope of Symposium
The International Symposium on Parallel Architectures, Algorithms, and
Networks (I-SPAN) is a forum for scientists, engineers, and
practitioners throughout the world to exchange ideas and research
results related to the design, use, analysis, and application of
parallel architectures, algorithms, networks, and internet technology.
The first eight symposia were held:

  - I-SPAN '94: in Kanazawa, Japan, on December 14-16, 1994
  - I-SPAN '96: in Beijing, China, on June 12-14, 1996
  - I-SPAN '97: in Taipei, Taiwan, on December 18-20, 1997
  - I-SPAN '99: in Perth/Freemantle, Australia, on June 23-25, 1999
  - I-SPAN 2000: in Dallas/Richardson, Texas, USA, on December 7-9, 2000
  - I-SPAN 2002: in Manila, the Philippines, on May 23-25, 2002
  - I-SPAN 2004: in Hong Kong, China, on May 10-12, 2004
  - I-SPAN 2005: in Las Vegas, USA, on December 7-9, 2005

The ninth I-SPAN symposium will be held in Sydney, Australia, on
October 11-13. I-SPAN 2007 will include keynote addresses,
invited/contributed papers, workshops, and special sessions on
on-going projects on high-performance computing and/or communications.

The symposium will have five tracks:
  • Algorithms
  • Applications
  • Architecture
  • Internet Technology and Informatics
  • Networks and Communications

Relevant topics include (but are not limited to) the following:
  •  Applications of Parallel Processing (including web applications, peer to peer  computing,grid computing and scientific applications)
  •  Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
  •  Compilers and Optimizations for Parallel Processing
  •  Database and Data Mining
  •  Fault Tolerance Issues and Systems
  •  Intelligent Networks
  •  Interconnection Networks
  •  Internet and WWW Measurement, Mapping and Modeling
  •  Internet Technology and Applications
  •  Multicasting and Broadcasting Issues
  •  Multimedia Networking
  •  Network Routing and Communication Algorithms (wired, wireless, ad-hoc, etc.)
  •  Network Security Applications
  •  Parallel and Network Computing and Algorithms
  •  Parallel Architecture and Processing Systems
  •  Scientific and High Performance Computing
  •  Telecommunication Network Design and Optimization
  •  VLSI Network Design
  •  Wireless Networks and Mobile Computing

General Chair:

  Albert Zomaya
  School of Information Technologies
  University of Sydney
  Email: zomaya@it.usyd.edu.au
  URL: http://www.it.usyd.edu.au/~zomaya/
Program Committee Chair

 Sartaj Sahni
 CISE Department
 University of Florida
 Gainsville, Florida, FL 32611
 Tel: (1) 352 392 1527
 Fax: (1) 352 392 1220
 Email: sahni@cise.ufl.edu

Steering Committee Co-chairs

 D. Frank Hsu; Fordham University, USA

 Oscar Ibarra; University of California at Santa Barbara, USA

Advisory Committee

 Wolfgang W. Bein, University of Nevada at Las Vergas, USA

 Jean-Claude Bermond, CNRS/INRIA/UNSA, France

 Kyung-Yong Chwa, KAIST, Korea

 Susumu Horiguchi, Tohoku University, Japan

 Chung-Ming Huang, National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan

 Joseph F. JaJa, University of Maryland, USA

 Fei-Pei Lai, National Taiwan University, Taiwan

 Bruce Maggs, Carnegie Mellon University, USA

 Miroslaw Malek, Humboldt University-Berlin, Germany

 Friedhelm Meyer auf der Heide, University of Paderborn, Germany

 Lionel M. Ni, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, China

 Michael Palis, Rutgers University, USA

 Howard J. Siegel, Colorado State University, USA

 Hal Sudborough, University of Texas at Dallas, USA

 Makoto Takizawa, Tokyo Denki University, Japan

Program Committee Vice-Chairs:

Koji Nakano,  Hiroshima University, Japan

David Abramson,  Monash University, Australia

Rajat Moona,  IIT Kanpur, India

(Internet Technology and Informatics)
Muninder Singh,NC State University, USA

(Networks and Communications)
 Chung-Ta King,  National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan
Workshop Co-Chairs:

Azzedine Boukerche

Guihai Chen

Panel Chair:

Xian-He Sun

Publication Chairs

Rajkumar Buyya, Melbourne University, Australia,
(Australia and New Zealand)

Pilar Herrero, pherrero@fi.upm.es, Universidad Politcnica de
Madrid, Spain (Europe)

Nashaat Mansour, Lebanese American University,
Lebanon,nmansour@lau.edu.lb, (Middle East)

Hai Jin, Huazhong University of Science and
Technology, China, hjin@mail.hust.edu.cn, (Asia)

Stephan Olariu, Old Dominion University, USA,
olariu@cs.odu.edu (USA/Canada)

Organisation Committee
Local Organisation Chair:
Bjorn Landfeldt
School of Information Technologies
University of Sydney
Tel: (61) 2 9351 8962
Fax: (61) 2 9351 3838

Finance Chair

Bing Bing Zhou
School of Information Technologies
University of Sydney

Publication Chair

Riky Subrata
School of Information Technologies
University of Sydney

Submission Guidelines

Please submit your complete paper(s) through the EDAS sumission system at:

The paper should not exceed 20 double-spaced pages of text using 12 point size type
on 8.5 x 11 inch pages.

Workshop papers should be submitted to the individual workshop
organisers. The workshops to be held will be separately advertised
and also listed on the conference web site shortly after March 30.

Electronic submissions must be in the form of a readable PDF file containing the complete manuscript (including title, author's name, affiliation, and abstract). Authors should make sure that the PDF or PostScript file will print on a PostScript printer that uses 8.5 x 11 inch letter size paper.

The results presented in the paper must be unpublished and not submitted for publication elsewhere, including the proceedings of other conferences or workshops. One author of each accepted paper will be expected to present the paper at the conference.
Proceedings will be published by the IEEE Computer Society Press.

Workshop proposals should be submitted to the workshop co-chairs.

Gala Dinner Sponsor

Best Paper Sponsor

Cocktail Reception Sponsor

ISSNIP Symposium Sessions Sponsor